Rockford IceHogs Announce Award Winners as Postseason Looms - NBC Chicago
Madhouse Enforcer | Chicago Blackhawks NHL Blog
Hard-hitting Blackhawks coverage

Rockford IceHogs Announce Award Winners as Postseason Looms

Michael Leighton takes home team MVP honors as IceHogs finish fourth in West



    Rockford IceHogs Announce Award Winners as Postseason Looms

    The Chicago Blackhawks are still active in the Stanley Cup Playoffs, but their AHL team finished up its regular season on Saturday as the Rockford IceHogs fell to the Toronto Marlies by a 3-1 margin.

    The IceHogs will be competing in the Calder Cup Playoffs, which begin next week, but on Saturday night the team announced their award winners for the 2014-15 season.

    Team MVP honors went to goaltender Michael Leighton, who had five shutouts and racked up a 22-13-4 record for the team this season. He also had a 2.26 goals against average on the season, and he had a .921 save percentage on the year.

    Defenseman Kyle Cumiskey, whom the Blackhawks recalled for the postseason run, won the team’s "Defenseman of the Year" award as he was recognized for his two goals and 18 assists on the campaign.

    Here are the rest of the award winners for the IceHogs:

    Rookie of the Year: Ville Pokka

    Unsung Hero: Peter Regin

    Heavy Hitter: Cody Bass

    Most Improved Player: Phillip Danault

    The IceHogs will open the postseason against the defending AHL champion Texas Stars on Friday in the Lone Star State. They will play Games 3, 4 and 5 of the series at the BMO Harris Bank Centre.

    Get the latest from NBC Chicago anywhere, anytime

    • Download the NBC Chicago App

      Download the App

      Available for iOS and Android