A proposed Ohio law could make smoking in a vehicle with children under 6 illegal.
According to the bill, first-time offenders could be fined with a $500 ticket. In addition, offenders with subsequent violations could be fined an additional $750.
According to the Ohio Legislature’s official site, the bill was first introduced at the beginning of last year.
As of yet, Illinois is not one of the states that has such a law.
The following seven states however, have implemented a state law similar to this proposal: Alabama, Arkansas, California, Louisiana, Oregon, Vermont and Virginia, reports NBC-affiliate WLWT5.