Joe Paterno's Name Removed From Big Ten Trophy

The football trophy will be renamed the Stagg Championship Trophy after University of Chicago coach Amos Alonzo Stagg.

View Comments ()



    Getty Images

    Joe Paterno's name will be removed from the Big Ten Conference Football Championship Trophy, renaming it the Stagg Championship Trophy, after University of Chicago coach Amos Alonzo Stagg.

    The Big Ten Conference made the announcement Monday and Big Ten commissioner Jim Delany said in a statement it would be "inappropriate" to keep Paterno's name on the trophy.

    "The trophy and its namesake are intended to be celebratory and aspirational, not controversial," said Delany. "We believe that it's important to keep the focus on the players and the teams that will be competing in the inaugural championship game."

    The news comes after Penn State's decision to fire Paterno last week after a scandal involving former defensive coordinator Jerry Sandusky.

    The trophy was originally named the Stagg-Paterno Championship Trophy, after Paterno and Stagg's career achievements, according to the Big Ten.

    Stagg coached football at the University of Chicago from 1892-1932 and led the Maroons to national championships in 1905 and 1913, according to the Big Ten website. Stagg held a 199-94-22 record while the university was a member of the Big Ten conference.

    The trophy will be awarded to the winner of the inaugural Big Ten championship game on Dec. 3 in Indianapolis.