Roquan Smith Wins Bears Ed Block Courage Award

Roquan Smith wins Bears Ed Block Courage Award originally appeared on NBC Sports Chicago

Roquan Smith was named the winner of the Bears’ 2020 Ed Block Courage Award on Thursday. Every season NFL players vote for the winner on all 32 teams. According to the Ed Block Courage Award Foundation website, the award goes to a player “for their courage and inspiration throughout the season. The recipients stand as role models for their ability to overcome adversity while also serving their respective community.”

"It's a tremendous honor for me," Smith said via "Being voted on by my teammates, I think that speaks volumes, just having your peers vote for you and think you deserve this award. That means a lot to me just because of the brotherhood that we have."

Recent winners for the Bears include Allen Robinson, Zach Miller, Kyle Long, Pernell McPhee and Robbie Gould.

The Ed Block Courage Awards Foundation mission is to support “the well-being of abused, neglected and at-risk children throughout our Courage House National Support Network for Kids… Our Vision is to break the cycle of abuse and neglect and to lay the foundation for generations of safe and nurturing families.”

The Bears’ Courage House is Maryville Academy.

Click here to subscribe to the Under Center Podcast for free.

Download MyTeams Today!
Copyright RSN
Contact Us