22 Years of Nobel Peace Laureates

Colombia's President Juan Manuel Santos, winner of the 2016 Nobel Peace Prize, joins a long list of laureates that includes President Barack Obama, Pakistani activist for female education Malala Yousafzai, former President Jimmy Carter and South Africa's anti-apartheid revolutionary Nelson Mandela. Here is the list from the past couple decades. The first award dates back to 1901.

22 photos
Getty Images
Colombia's President Juan Manuel Santos makes the victory/peace sign with wife Maria Clemencia Rodriguez after voting in the referendum on a peace accord to end the decades-old guerrilla war between the FARC and the state on Oct. 2, 2016, in Bogota, Colombia. Santos won the 2016 Nobel Peace Prize "for his resolute efforts to bring the country's more than 50-year-long civil war to an end."
In this Sunday, Jan. 26, 2014 file photo, members of the Tunisian National Constituent Assembly celebrate the adoption of the new constitution in Tunis, Tunisia. A Tunisian democracy group won the Nobel Peace Prize on Oct. 9, 2015, for its contributions to the first and most successful Arab Spring movement. The Norwegian Nobel Committee cited the Tunisian National Dialogue Quartet "for its decisive contribution to the building of a pluralistic democracy" in the North African country following its 2011 revolution.
AFP/Getty Images
The 17-year-old Pakistani girls' education activist Malala Yousafzai, known as Malala, (left), shares the 2014 Nobel Peace Prize with Indian campaigner Kailash Satyarthi, 60, who has fought for 35 years to free thousands of children from virtual slave labor. Click through for a list from the past 20 years. The first award dates back to 1901.
Getty Images
The director-general of the Organization for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons, Ahmet Uzumcu, shows the 2013 Nobel Peace Prize he received on behalf of the organization "for its extensive efforts to eliminate chemical weapons".
Getty Images
European Union President Herman Van Rompuy of Belgium (L) and European Commission President Jose Manuel Barroso (R) of Portugal accept the 2012 Nobel Peace Prize award on behalf of the EU "for its contributions to the advancement of peace and reconciliation, democracy and human rights in Europe."
Joint winners Yemeni journalist and activist Tawakul Karman (L), Liberian activist Leymah Gbowee (C) and Liberian President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf (R) hold up their prizes "for their non-violent struggle for the safety of women and for women's rights," at the Nobel Peace Prize award ceremony on Dec. 10, 2011, in Oslo, Norway.
AFP/Getty Images
The empty chair with a diploma and medal that should have been awarded to Nobel Peace Prize winner Liu Xiaobo (portrait l), stands in Oslo City Hall on Dec. 10, 2010. The head of the Nobel committee placed the Peace Prize on an empty chair as Beijing raged against the award to the dissident "for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China."
AFP/Getty Images
President Barack Obama at the podium after being awarded the Peace Prize "for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and cooperation between peoples," during the ceremony in Oslo on Dec. 10, 2009.
Getty Images
Awarded "for his important efforts on several continents and over more than three decades to resolve international conflicts," former Finland President Martti Ahtisaar holds up the Nobel Peace Prize at the ceremony on Dec. 10, 2008 in Oslo, Norway.
AFP/Getty Images
Chair of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, Rajendra Pachauri (R), and American politician and environmentalist Al Gore show off their 2007 Nobel Peace Prizes "for their work to help combat global warming."
AFP/Getty Images
Grameen Bank founder Muhammad Yunus (R) and representative Mosammat Taslima Begum with their Nobel Peace Prizes on Dec. 10, 2006 "for their efforts to create economic and social development from below."
AFP/Getty Images
Mohamed ElBaradei, director general of the International Atomic Energy Agency with the Nobel Peace Prize in Oslo on Dec. 10, 2005. The International Atomic Energy Agency and its director general Mohamed ElBaradei received the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize "for their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way," according to The Nobel Foundation.
AFP/Getty Images
African ecologist and activist Wangari Maathai poses after receiving the 2004 Nobel Peace Prize "for her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace" on Dec. 10, 2004.
Iranian lawyer, human rights activist and founder of Defenders of Human Rights Center in Iran, Shirin Ebadi with the 2003 Nobel Peace Prize, "for her efforts for democracy and human rights."
AFP/Getty Images
Former U.S. President Jimmy Carter smiles after receiving the 2002 Nobel Peace Prize on Dec. 10, 2002, "for his decades of untiring effort to find peaceful solutions to international conflicts, to advance democracy and human rights, and to promote economic and social development."
U.N. President Han Seung-soo, right, looks at Secretary General Kofi Annan as they hold their Nobel Peace Awards "for their work for a better organized and more peaceful world" on Dec. 10, 2001.
South Korean President Kim Dae-jung, right, with Gunnar Berge, the chairman of the five-member awards committee, pose after the 76-year-old president accepted the 2000 Nobel Peace Prize "for his work for democracy and human rights in South Korea and in East Asia in general, and for peace and reconciliation with North Korea in particular."
Marie-Eve Raguenau, right, from the volunteer doctor humanitarian group, Medecins Sans Frontieres (Doctors Without Borders) receives the Nobel Peace Prize on the organization's behalf from Francis Sejerstedt, chairman of the Nobel Peace Prize Committee, during the 1999 ceremony in Oslo on Dec. 10.
The 1998 Nobel Peace Prize laureates John Hume, right, and David Trimble display their diplomas and medals, awarded "for their efforts to find a peaceful solution to the conflict in Northern Ireland."
The 1997 Nobel Peace Prize winners Jody Williams of the U.S. and Cambodian Tun Channareth, in wheelchair, display their awards for their work toward "the banning and clearing of anti-personnel mines."
The 1996 Nobel Peace Prize laureates East Timor Bishop Carlos Filipe Ximenes Belo (right) and activist Jose Ramos-Horta (left) display their awards "for their work towards a just and peaceful solution to the conflict in East Timor."
Joseph Rotblat, (right), and the Secretary General Francesco Calogero (left), display their Nobel medals and diplomas, awarded "for their efforts to diminish the part played by nuclear arms in international politics and, in the longer run, to eliminate such arms," on Dec. 10, 1995.
Contact Us