Mayor Receives 65 Applications to Replace Former Ald. Sandi Jackson - NBC Chicago
Ward Room
Covering Chicago's nine political influencers

Mayor Receives 65 Applications to Replace Former Ald. Sandi Jackson

12 applicants automatically disqualified due to residency requirement



    More than five dozen people have expressed interest in replacing former Ald. Sandi Jackson in the Chicago City Council.

    As of 5 p.m. Monday, Mayor Rahm Emanuel's office received 65 complete applications for the vacant position in the city's 7th Ward. Twelve of them, however, won't be considered because the applicant doesn't live in the ward, officials said.

    That leaves 53 applicants that will be reviewed by a city committee who will narrow the list down to three final applicants.

    Jackson resigned earlier this year, two months after her husband, Jesse Jackson Jr., resigned from his post in the U.S. Congress.

    Alderman Sandi Jackson Resigns

    [CHI] Alderman Sandi Jackson Resigns
    Jackson said her decision to resign, effective Jan. 15, was made with a "heavy heart." Lauren Jiggetts reports.
    (Published Friday, Jan. 11, 2013)

    The application process was originally slated to end Friday at 5 p.m., but city officials extended the submission process through business hours on Monday because of a temporary outage with the city's website.

    The mayor has said he hopes to have Jackson's replacement named by mid-February.

    Eligible candidate names include:

    Tennesha Frierson
    Natashia Holmes
    Kenisha Clorinda Davis
    Roberta S. Howard
    Carl L. Bibbs
    Bernie Riley
    Walonza Lee
    Lionell Romeo Martin Sr.
    Jesse L. Harley
    Thesby Douglas
    Lanita Ross
    Margie Reid
    Pauline Lee
    John Hayes
    Leori Moore
    Joseph Moseley II
    Greg Mitchell
    Change Hamilton-Hayyim
    Glen Harston
    William Taylor
    Lorse Sizer
    Leticia B. Ransom
    George Pruitt III
    Mia Henry
    Leanne Theresa Muller-Wharton
    Marja Ann Stanford Leak
    Vicky Michelle Wooten
    Sidney Howard Brooks III
    William Campbell King Jr.
    Benjamin Boone
    Jaqueline Harris
    LaMeise Turner
    Flora Digby
    David Lee
    Fareeda Watson
    Scott Onque
    Jesse Pettway
    Brittney Stinson
    Frances Pratt
    Quentin Scott
    Dennis McCullum
    Jason Bertrand
    Andria Blackburn
    Carlos Maxwell
    Michele Kroeger
    Lashonda Flowers
    Dorian Myrickes
    Mark Wallace
    Joyce Brown
    Marcus Wolfe
    Deveree Greenwood
    Charles McMillan
    Clara Hubbard