Quinn Asks for FEMA Help With Flood Assessments

Governor has issued disaster declarations for 44 Illinois counties

Gov. Pat Quinn on Monday asked the Federal Emergency Management Agency to help with flood damage assessments in Illinois.

Quinn said the state is working to get federal assistance to help Illinois communities recover from last week's flooding. The assessments will start April 29 and provide documentation for Illinois to request federal help.

"We have seen some of the worst flooding damage to neighborhoods and homes across our state in Illinois history," Quinn said in a written statement. "The state will continue to take every step to secure assistance from the federal government that will help our communities recover."

Other agencies helping with the assessments include the Illinois Emergency Management Agency and local emergency management offices.

Nearly four dozen counties in Illinois have been declared state disaster areas. They are: Adams, Brown, Bureau, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Champaign, Cook, DeKalb, Douglas, DuPage, Fulton, Greene, Grundy, Hancock, Henderson, Henry, Jersey, Jo Daviess, Kane, Kendall, Knox, Lake, LaSalle, Livingston, Marshall, Mason, McDonough, McHenry, Mercer, Morgan, Ogle, Peoria, Pike, Putnam, Rock Island, Schuyler, Scott, Stark, Tazewell, Whiteside, Will, Winnebago and Woodford.

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

Contact Us