NBC Chicago Wins Big at Lisagor Awards

Mary Ann Ahern wins Lifetime Achievement Award

NBC 5 Chicago was a big winner at the Chicago Headline Club Award Ceremony, winning two Peter Lisagor Awards and a Lifetime Achievement Award for veteran political reporter Mary Ann Ahern. 

The Chicago Headline Club, the largest Society of Professional Journalists chapter in the country, held its annual awards dinner Friday before nearly 350 people at the Union League Club of Chicago.

NBC 5’s 10PM News team won two prestigious journalism awards in the television category for “Breaking News”  and “Late Newscast” categories. 

Joe Kolina, Rob Stafford, Jennifer Lay-Riske, Allison Rosati, Carol Marin, Mary Ann Ahern, Natalie Martinez, Stefan Holt, Alex Perez, Phil Rogers, Don Moseley and 10 p.m. News Team WMAQ-TV, “Blagojevich Verdict” 

Joe Kolina, Jennifer Lay-Riske, and 10 p.m. News Team,  WMAQ-TV, “Blizzard 2011, Blagojevich Verdict, Off-Duty Officer Killed”

NBC 5’s Mary Ann Ahern was honored with a Chicago Headline Club Lifetime Achievement Award. The annual award recognizes journalists for their extraordinary contribution to the community and/or the profession. 

Mary Ann Ahern is a 23-year veteran of NBC 5 news. In addition to political reporter she also co-hosts NBC 5’s weekly political show “Ward Room” on Chicago Nonstop (Digital Channel 5.2) with Carol Marin, also a past Lifetime Achievement Award winner.


Contact Us