Dylan Cease to Open Season in Triple-A, Robert to Start in Winston-Salem

The Chicago White Sox boast one of baseball’s deepest farm systems, and with numerous minor league teams set to take the field for the first time this week, the club has decided where its top prospects will begin the 2019 season.

The Triple-A Charlotte Knights will feature a slew of former major leaguers on their roster, including infielders Alcides Escobar and Ryan Goins and pitcher Ervin Santana. Nicky Delmonico, who spent most of last season with the White Sox, will also begin the season with the Knights.

Pitcher Dylan Cease, one of the White Sox top pitching prospects, will begin the season at the Triple-A level along with fireballer Zack Burdi.

The Double-A Birmingham Barons will be loaded in the outfield, with top prospects Micker Adolfo and Luis Alexander Basabe both starting out the season two rungs below the big leagues. Outfielder Luis Gonzalez could also turn some heads, as the 23-year-old looks to have a breakout campaign this summer.

Outfield prospect Luis Robert will begin the 2019 season with the Single-A Winston-Salem Dash, and he will be joined by 2018 first round draft pick Nick Madrigal, who will anchor the team’s infield.

Here are the full rosters from the Sox farm system, with the Great Falls Voyagers unveiling their roster when their season begins in June:

Charlotte Knights (Class AAA):

Pitchers – Spencer Adams, Aaron Bummer, Zack Burdi, Dylan Cease, Carson Fulmer, Jordan Guerrero, Evan Marshall, Juan Minaya, Josh Osich, Donn Roach, Ervin Santana, Jordan Stephens, Colton Turner, Thyago Vieira

Catchers – Seby Zavala

Infielders – Alcides Escobar, Jordan George, Ryan Goins, DJ Peterson, Matt Skole

Outfielders – Nicky Delmonico, Brandon Guyer, Charlie Tilson, Preston Tucker

Birmingham Barons (Class AA):

Pitchers – Tanner Banks, Mauricio Cabrera, Brian Clark, Danny Dopico, Dane Dunning, Bernardo Flores, Matt Foster, Tyler Johnson, Jimmy Lambert, Luis Martinez, Kodi Medeiros, Sean Nolin, Felix Paulino, AJ Puckett, Hunter Schryver, Matt Tomshaw, Connor Walsh

Catchers – Alfredo Gonzalez, Yermin Mercedes

Infielders – Ti’Quan Forbes, Trey Michalczewski, Laz Rivera, Mitch Roman, Gavin Sheets, Ramon Torres

Outfielders – Micker Adolfo, Luis Alexander Basabe, Joel Booker, Luis Gonzalez, Blake Rutherford

Kannapolis Intimidators (Class A):

Pitchers – Vince Arobio, Jason Bilous, Johan Dominguez, Sam Long, Davis Martin, Kade McClure, Andrew Perez, Wilber Perez, Konnor Pilkington, Lane Ramsey, Bennett Sousa, Jonathan Stiever, Taylor Varnell

Catchers – Michael Hickman, Evan Skoug, Gunnar Troutwine

Infielders – Ramon Beltre, Bryce bush, Luis Curbelo, Amando Nunez, Lenyn Sosa

Outfielders – Ian Dawkins, Alex Destino, Logan Sowers, Steele Walker

Winston-Salem Dash (Class A):

Pitchers – Blake Battenfield, Victor Diaz, Jake Elliott, Kevin Escorcia, Alec Hansen, Drew Hasler, Lincoln Henzman, Kyle Kubat, Luis Ledo, Zach Lewis, Jose Nin, John Parke

Catchers – Daniel Gonzalez, Nate Nolan, Carlos Perez

Infielders – Tate Blackman, Johan Cruz, Nick Madrigal, Zach Remillard, Yeyson Yrizam

Outfielders – Craig Dedelow, Tyler Frost, JJ Muno, Luis Robert

Contact Us