Chicago Cubs

Chicago Cubs Set Division Series Roster

The Chicago Cubs start their postseason Friday against the Washington Nationals and now we know which players will take the field. 

The team released its 25-man roster Friday morning. 

Here's a look at who's on it:


49-Jake Arrieta, RHP

71 - Wade Davis, RHP 

32-Brian Duensing, LHP

6-Carl Edwards Jr., RHP

28-Kyle Hendricks, RHP

41 - John Lackey, RHP

34-Jon Lester, LHP

38-Mike Montgomery, LHP

62 - José Quintana, LHP

46-Pedro Strop, RHP

37-Justin Wilson, LHP

The Cubs opted not to keep relief pitcher Hector Rondon on the roster, as he continues to work his way back from elbow inflammation. It's unclear whether he was left off the roster because of health or because of rust, but he won't be available in the first round. 


13 - Alex Avila 

40 - Willson Contreras

The Cubs carried three catchers last postseason, but this time around they'll stick with two as Victor Caratini and Rene Rivera were left off of the NLDS roster. 


9 - Javier Baez 

17 - Kris Bryant 

8 - Ian Happ

2 - Tommy La Stella

44 - Anthony Rizzo 

27 - Addison Russell 

18 - Ben Zobrist 

No real surprises in the infield, as six of the seven players will play just about every game, and La Stella will serve as one of the team's most effective pinch hitters and versatile defensive replacements. 


5 - Albert Almora Jr. 

22 - Jason Heyward 

30 - Jon Jay 

24 - Leonys Martin 

12 - Kyle Schwarber 

The Cubs opted to keep 14 fielders with the shorter Division Series round, and Martin was the beneficiary, as he'll serve primarily as a pinch-runner and as a defensive substitute late in games, most likely for Ian Happ or Kyle Schwarber. 

Contact Us