Illinois Would Be 10th State To Legalize Gay Marriage

If the General Assembly passes the Religious Freedom and Marriage Fairness Act -- as President Obama has urged legislators to do -- Illinois will become the 10th state to legalize gay marriage. Here’s a short history of gay marriage’s progress in the United States.
Massachusetts: Legalized by Supreme Court, 2004
New Jersey: Legalized by Supreme Court, 2008; approved by legislature, 2009
Iowa: Legalized by Supreme Court, 2009
Vermont: Approved by legislature, 2009
New Hampshire: Approved by legislature, 2010
New York: Approved by legislature, 2011
Maine: Approved by referendum, Nov. 6
Maryland: Approved by referendum, Nov. 6
Washington: Approved by referendum, Nov. 6
Contact Us