Student With Best Score at Golf Tournament Denied Trophy Because She's a Girl - NBC Chicago
National & International News
The day’s top national and international news

Student With Best Score at Golf Tournament Denied Trophy Because She's a Girl

"If she can play with the boys — same distance same rules — I don’t understand why they can't give her credit for winning the tournament," Emily Nash's father said

    processing...

    NEWSLETTERS

    Gender Keeps Golfer From Winning Tournament Trophy

    A female high school student who had the best score at a boys' golf tournament in Massachusetts has been denied the trophy because she's a girl.

    (Published Thursday, Oct. 26, 2017)

    A 16-year-old high school student who had the best score at a boys' golf tournament in Massachusetts has been denied the trophy because she's a girl.

    Lunenburg High School student Emily Nash's score of 75 at the Central Massachusetts Division 3 boys' golf tournament was better than the runner-up.

    But Nash wasn't awarded first place and won't advance to next week's state tournament because of a rule set by the Massachusetts Interscholastic Athletic Association.

    The rule states that girls playing on a fall boys' team can't be entered in the Boys' Fall Individual Tournament.

    That means Nash can't compete as an individual, and her score on Tuesday only counted toward her team's total.

    "I was a little disappointed that I couldn’t have a title — it just is what it is," Nash said.

    The trophy ended up going to the runner-up.

    "He offered it to me, which was super nice and classy of him," Nash said.

    The tournament director told The Telegram & Gazette he made Nash aware of the rule before the tournament began.

    Nash and her father, Robert, said they understand the rules but they're not sure why this one exists.

    Journalist Catches Runaway Horse in Dramatic Footage

    [NATL] Journalist Catches Runaway Horse in Dramatic Footage

    Hayley Moore might have to add "horse wrangler" to her resume after the field reporter was caught on cam catching runaway horse during an assignment on a track in Chepstow, Wales. Moore stopped an out-of-control Give Em A Clump as the three-year-old horse ran straight towards her.

    (Published Thursday, May 24, 2018)

    "If she can play with the boys — same distance same rules — I don’t understand why they can't give her credit for winning the tournament," Robert Nash said.

    Emily said she is taking it all in stride.

    "You don’t always have to win the actual title to get recognition for it," she said. "All my teammates were real supportive."