Chicago to Hold Lottery for Recreational Cannabis Locations

Where will Chicago's recreational cannabis shops be located? Businesses will find out Friday when the city holds its first recreational cannabis lottery.

The 31 Chicago-area medical marijuana dispensaries already licensed by the state will be allowed to sell recreational products at their existing locations once the new cannabis law goes into effect on Jan. 1, 2020.

But those existing dispensaries that participate in the lottery on Friday will have the opportunity to choose in which of the seven designated "cannabis zones" in Chicago they want to open their second locations, Mayor Lori Lightfoot's office said in a statement.

Each zone will be allowed a maximum of seven recreational dispensaries, according to Lightfoot's office.

A total of 38 recreational locations will be available in Friday's lottery: three in the North zone, four in the Northwest zone, six in the West zone, seven in the Central zone, six in the Southeast zone, five in the Southwest zone and seven in the Far South zone.

The lottery will be held at 8:30 a.m. Friday at City Hall.

Contact Us