Patrick Kane Selected as Captain for 2016 NHL All-Star Game

Kane is on pace to record nearly 120 points this season

Getty Images

NHL fan voting for the 2016 All-Star Game captains is now complete, and Chicago Blackhawks fans will be pleased with the results as Patrick Kane has been selected as the captain for the Central Division team.

Kane, who has scored 23 goals and dished out 33 assists so far this season, beat out players like Tyler Seguin and Jamie Benn for the captaincy of the Central Division team, which will be loaded with talent when the tournament kicks off in Nashville later this month.

That tournament will consist of four teams playing three-on-three hockey. The structure will feature the Central team battling a team from the Pacific Division, and the Metropolitan Division will take on the Atlantic Division. The winners of those games will compete in the championship game, with the winning side taking home a $1 million prize.

Jaromir Jagr of the Florida Panthers was picked to lead the Atlantic Division, while Alex Ovechkin was voted as captain of the Metropolitan side. In a shocking twist, Arizona Coyotes winger John Scott was named as the captain for the Pacific Division team, with the former Blackhawks enforcer currently having just one assist so far this season.

Each roster will feature six forwards, three defensemen, and two goaltenders, and the remaining 10 players for each team will be announced by the league on Wednesday.

The All-Star Game will take place on January 31, and will be contested at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena.

Contact Us