Obama Provides Federal Funding for Illinois Flood Victims

Low-interest loans, grants available for residents in 11 Illinois counties

President Barack Obama on Friday signed a declaration allowing residents in 11 Illinois counties to receive federal aid for losses sustained during last month's flooding.

The president's action makes federal funding available to affected individuals in the counties of Cook, DeKalb, DuPage, Fulton, Grundy, Kane, Kendall, Lake, LaSalle, McHenry, and Will, and comes just one day after Gov. Pat Quinn formally requested it.

"This quick action will help speed relief to the people of Illinois who suffered flood damages and help them begin rebuilding their lives," the governor said in a statement moments after the president signed the declaration.

Residents in those counties are eligible for grants and low-interest loans.

Damage assessments teams found 41 destroyed homes and more than 760 with major flooding damage. About 80 businesses in the 11 counties were flood damaged.

Residents will losses can apply for federal assistance by visiting DisasterAssistance.gov or by calling 1-800-621-FEMA between 7 a.m. and 10 p.m.

The federal funding only covers those who sustained losses between April 6 and May 5, 2013.

Contact Us