Chicago Bears

Nagy Named NFL Coach of the Year by AP

"We won this together as a family,” he said

In his first season as Chicago Bears coach, Matt Nagy was named the NFL Coach of the Year by the Associated Press Saturday evening in Atlanta at The Fox Theater.

Nagy is the fifth Bears coach to win the award, joining team founder George Halas (1963, 1965), Mike Ditka (1985, 1988), Dick Jauron (2001) and Lovie Smith (2005).

“I want to thank the AP for selecting me as the Coach of the Year for 2018, especially considering the other deserving coaches who had outstanding seasons,” Nagy said. “This recognition is not about me, it is about our coaching staff, our players, the entire organization and the great Chicago Bears fans. We won this together as a family.”

For taking the perennial also-ran Bears to a 12-4 record and the NFC North championship, Nagy earned 24 votes from a nationwide panel of media members who regularly cover the league. That was well ahead of the Chargers' Anthony Lynn, who got 10 votes in balloting announced at NFL Honors.

Nagy has overseen the development of quarterback Mitchell Trubisky, who blossomed in his second pro season, and saw a defense befitting the "Monsters of the Midway" dominate opponents at times.

In a year when many coaches did exceptional work, four others also received votes. The Colts' Frank Reich got eight, followed by the Chiefs Andy Reid (5), the Seahawks' Pete Carroll (2) and the Saints' Sean Payton (1).

Mayor Rahm Emanuel also congratulated Nagy via a tweet he posted Saturday.

"In just 1 year, Chicago Bears' Matt Nagy took #DaBears from worst to 1st and endeared himself to Chicago football fans," he said. "I join all #Bears fans on congratulating #HeadCoachNagy on this well-earned honor as we all look forward to many more successful seasons with him at the helm."

Copyright AP - Associated Press
Contact Us