Lottery Decides Ballot Order For Chicago Mayoral Candidates

A new lottery has determined which mayoral candidates will appear in some of the most coveted positions on the ballot in February.

The names were chosen for both the first and last positions, both long considered prime spots for those seeking election.

Those in contention for the first position, filed their petitions "simultaneously" at 9 a.m. on Nov. 19 while those seeking the final ballot spot filed between 4 and 5 p.m. Nov 26.

Sixteen challenges were filed against the petitions of several candidates for Chicago mayor by Monday's deadline, according to the city's Board of Elections.

To run for mayor, candidates need to submit 12,500 signatures from registered Chicago voters, who can only sign one petition. Should any candidate drop below that threshold, they are rendered ineligible to run for the office.

With so many candidates in the race, the threshold for vote totals needed to advance to a runoff is low - making the first and last positions even more highly coveted.

The ballot will look like this:

  • Jerry Joyce
  • Paul Vallas
  • Willie Wilson
  • Toni Preckwinkle
  • Catherine Brown D'Tycoon
  • Conrien Hykes Clark
  • William Daley
  • Garry McCarthy
  • Dorothy Brown
  • Gery Chico
  • Sandra Mallory
  • Susana Mendoza 
  • Amara Enyia
  • Richard Mayers
  • Roger Washington
  • LaShawn Ford
  • Neal Sales-Griffin
  • Lori Lightfoot
  • Bob Fioretti
  • Jamal Green
  • John Kozlar
Contact Us