General Mills has issued a recall of certain Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal because some boxes that were labeled as gluten-free contained wheat.
The voluntary recall, announced Monday, affects about 1.8 million boxes that were made in July, the company said, adding that the cereal could cause "adverse health effects" for people with wheat allergies or celiac disease.
The Minneapolis-based food company said in a note that wheat flour was "inadvertently introduced" to the gluten-free oat flour system in an "isolated incident."
Cheerios told consumers how to identify the boxes in a tweet:
Consumers can request a refund or contact the company for further information at 1-800-775-8370.
The company also recently announced a recall of its Cascadian Farm frozen green beans after a package tested positive for listeria.