College of DuPage to Elect Three New Board of Trustees Members

The election follows a recent controversy surrounding college officials' spending

Three College of DuPage Board of Trustees candidates will be elected to six-year terms in the consolidated election Tuesday.

The election for trustees at the publicly funded college in Glen Ellyn comes shortly after controversy surrounding  top administrators’ extravagant spending on the taxpayers’ dime, the Chicago Tribune reported. The college was subpoenaed March 30 to turn over financial records.

Officials at the state’s largest community college, including President Robert Breuder, reportedly spent more than $190,000 on nearly 500 occasions at the school’s fine dining restaurant since 2011. The Tribune reports that the college picked up the bills at the 130-seat Waterleaf restaurant, with meals that cost nearly $200 per person and included copious amounts of pricey alcohol.

Twelve candidates are on the ballot for the three open seats on the college’s board of trustees. Three of the candidates -- Charles Bernstein of Naperville, Frank Napolitano of Bloomingdale and Deanne Mazzochi of Elmhurst -- ran together under what they call a “Clean Slate” platform, which criticizes Breuder’s performance and seeks to reduce his $763,000 severance package.

Other candidates include Claire Ball of Addison, Dan Bailey of Wheaton, Dave Carlin of Naperville, incumbent Nancy Svoboda of Downers Grove, incumbent Kim Savage of Darien, Joseph M. Wozniak of Naperville, Matt Gambs of Naperville, Sandra Pihos of Glen Ellyn and Roger Kempa of Darien.

Contact Us