Chicago Pride Parade: Which Politicians Will Appear, Which Won't?

Sunday's parade kicks off at noon in Uptown and winds south through the Boystown neighborhood before ending at Lincoln Park

What politician wouldn't want to appear before a crowd of nearly one million people?

There may be a few.

Chicago's 2014 pride parade -- the festive, four-mile party that snakes through the city's Boystown neighborhood -- kicks off at noon Sunday.

Those slated to appear in this election-year parade include Gov. Pat Quinn, who last November signed the same sex marriage bill that went into effect earlier this month, as well as Lt. Gov. Sheila Simon. 

Quinn's Republican opponent, Bruce Rauner, is not among the parade entries.

Others scheduled to march include Sen. Dick Durbin and Illinois Senate President John Cullerton. State Comptroller Judy Baar Topinka and Reps. Jan Schakowski and Mike Quigley said they'll be there too.

Illinois Reps. Greg Harris and Tom Cross are scheduled to appear, as are Illinois Sen. Don Harmon. Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle, Cook County Commissioner Jeff Tobolski, Cook County Clerk David Orr, Cook County State's Attorney Anita Alvarez and Clerk of the Circuit Court Dorothy Brown are also on the list of entries.

City officials include Chicago City Clerk Susana Mendoza, Chicago Treasurer Stephanie Neely, and Alds. George Cardenas, Roberto Maldonado, Daniel Solis, Tom Tunny, James Cappleman and Joe Moore. 

Mark Thomas, who is challenging Tunney for the 44th Ward seat, is also listed.

A spokeswoman with Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel's office declined to say whether or not the mayor will make an appearance in the parade. He was not among the list of entries as of Thursday afternoon.

Contact Us