Urlacher Honored by Teammates

Longtime Bears star Brian Urlacher on Tuesday was given the Ed Block Award for Courage as voted on by his teammates.

Urlacher was the second in the team behind Lance Briggs on tackles despite dealing with nagging injuries all season. He also didn't shrink from taking responsibility for Bears' losses, and showed himself as a leader even when the Bears struggled.

“Any time your teammates give you an award, that’s a big deal because they think that much of you,” Urlacher said. “Everyone knows my teammates mean a lot to me, any time they can do something like this and nominate you for an award, it’s a big deal.”

Urlacher has been a Bear for 12 seasons, and has experienced a resurgence in the past few seasons. His three interceptions tied him for second place with Charles Tillman, Major Wright and Corey Graham.

The Ed Block Award is given to one member on each of the NFL's 32 teams and is coveted because the winners are chosen by teammates.

Contact Us