2016 Millennium Park Summer Music Series Lineup Released

Millennium Park Summer Music Series

Blonde Redhead, Maceo Parker and Femi Kuti are among this year's Millennium Park Summer Music Series headliners, announced Thursday.

The free summer series kicks off June 6 with indie-rock band Blonde Redhead. The series continues every Monday and Thursday through Aug. 25, with the exception of the week of the Taste of Chicago, Lollapalooza and Mondays in August.

Formerly known as ‘Downtown Sound’ and ‘Made in Chicago: World Class Jazz,’ the Millennium Park concerts have morphed into one summer music series offering 18 concerts featuring both local and international artists from varying genres of music.

“Watching a free concert under the stars in Millennium Park has become a Chicago summertime tradition – and the music series is now evolving to include an even wider range of top-notch talent,” Michelle T. Boone, Commissioner of the Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, said in a statement. “No matter which concert our visitors attend, they will enjoy an exceptional performance set against the dramatic skyline of downtown Chicago.”

The summer music series links with the park’s Wednesday film series. All shows are free and start at 6:30 p.m. at the Jay Pritzker Pavilion, 201 E. Randolph St.

Here’s the full line-up:


Monday, June 6
Blonde Redhead + Ryley Walker

Thursday, June 9
Lee Fields & The Expressions + Makaya McCraven

Monday, June 13
Rodrigo Amarante + Leyla MaCalla

Thursday, June 16
Nneka + Gina Chavez

Monday, June 20
DJ Spooky’s Rebirth of a Nation + Kelan Phil Cohran’s Summer Solstice Ensemble

Thursday, June 23
Maceo Parker + Marrow

Monday, June 27
Eddie Palmieri Salsa Orchestra + Ecos del Pacifico

Thursday, June 30
TBD + Lower Dens

Monday, July 7 and Thursday, July 7

No Shows – Week of Taste of Chicago

Monday, July 11
Femi Kuti & The Positive Force + ProbCause

Thursday, July 14
Azymuth + Sidewalk Chalk

Monday, July 18
King Sunny Ade + Ugochi & A.S.E.

Thursday, July 21
Heritage Blues Orchestra + Toshi Reagon

Monday, July 25
The Jones Family Singers + Apostolic Church of God Sanctuary Choir

Thursday, July 28
No Show – Lollapalooza

Monday, August 1
Jose Gonzales + Tall Heights

Thursday, August 4
Sinkane + Mark de Clive-Lowe

Monday, August 8, 15, and 22
No Shows

Thursday, August 11
Mbongwana Star + Dos Santos Antibeat Orchestra

Thursday, August 18
Elephant Revival + Mandolin Orange

Thursday, August 25
TBD + Homme

Contact Us