DOJ Plans to Monitor Elections in These 46 Cities and Counties to Ensure Voters Aren't Harassed

Jeff Kowalsky | AFP | Getty Images
  • The Justice Department announced it will monitor polls in 64 jurisdictions among 24 states on Tuesday to ensure voters' civil rights.
  • States chosen for monitoring include some of the most closely watched elections of the midterm cycle.
  • The department has regularly monitored elections since the Voting Rights Act of 1965.
A neon voting sign is displayed on a truck during a midterm campaign election stop by Senator Raphael Warnock in Augusta, Georgia, U.S., November 5, 2022. 
Bob Strong | Reuters
A neon voting sign is displayed on a truck during a midterm campaign election stop by Senator Raphael Warnock in Augusta, Georgia, U.S., November 5, 2022. 

Follow CNBC's live blog covering Tuesday's midterm elections here.

The Justice Department plans to monitor polls in two dozen states across the country to ensure no one intimidates voters or otherwise meddles with Tuesday's midterm elections.

The department's Civil Rights Division selected 64 jurisdictions in 24 states, including Alaska, Florida, Georgia and Nevada, for oversight in both the general election and early voting. The division routinely monitors elections in the field, starting in 1965 when Congress passed the Voting Rights Act.

DOJ monitored polls in 18 states and 44 cities and counties in 2020, by comparison.

Some of the most anticipated races of the election will occur among the states chosen for monitoring. Incumbent GOP Sen. Marco Rubio of Florida is up against Democratic Rep. Val Demings for U.S. Senate. Georgia voters will choose between Democratic Sen. Raphael Warnock and former President Donald Trump's pick, Republican Herschel Walker. And Sen. Mark Kelly, D-Ariz., will defend his seat against venture capitalist Republican Blake Masters.

Personnel from the U.S. Attorneys' Offices and the Office of Personnel Management will assist the DOJ Civil Rights Division in monitoring efforts and maintaining contact with state and local election officials.

Poll monitoring is part of the division's mission to protect the civil right to vote under the Voting Rights Act, the Uniformed and Overseas Citizens Absentee Voting Act, the National Voter Registration Act, the Help America Vote Act, the Civil Rights Acts and the Americans with Disabilities Act, according to the DOJ. 

Here are the states and jurisdictions where DOJ will monitor polls:


  • City of Bethel
  • Dillingham Census Area
  • Kusilvak Census Area
  • Sitka City-Borough


  • Maricopa County
  • Navajo County
  • Pima County
  • Pinal County
  • Yavapai County


  • Newton County


  • Los Angeles County
  • Sonoma County


  • Broward County
  • Miami-Dade County
  • Palm Beach County


  • Cobb County, Georgia;
  • Fulton County, Georgia;
  • Gwinnett County, Georgia;


  • Town of Clinton
  • City of Everett
  • City of Fitchburg
  • City of Leominster
  • City of Malden
  • City of Methuen
  • City of Randolph
  • City of Salem


  • Prince George's County


  • City of Detroit
  • City of Flint
  • City of Grand Rapids
  • City of Pontiac
  • City of Southfield


  • City of Minneapolis
  • Hennepin County
  • Ramsey County


  • Cole County

North Carolina

  • Alamance County
  • Columbus County
  • Harnett County
  • Mecklenburg County
  • Wayne County

New Jersey

  • Middlesex County

New Mexico

  • Bernalillo County
  • San Juan County


  • Clark County
  • Washoe County

New York

  • Queens County


  • Cuyahoga County


  • Berks County
  • Centre County
  • Lehigh County
  • Luzerne County
  • Philadelphia County

Rhode Island

  • City of Pawtucket

South Carolina

  • Horry County


  • Dallas County
  • Harris County
  • Waller County


  • San Juan County


  • City of Manassas
  • City of Manassas Park
  • Prince William County


  • City of Milwaukee
  • City of Racine
Copyright CNBC
Contact Us