Okafor, Alexander, Ulis Named 2014 McDonald's All-Americans

Jahlil Okafor, Cliff Alexander and Tyler Ulis will represent Chicago on April 2 at the United Center

The rosters for the 2014 McDonald’s All-American Game were announced on Wednesday, and three area boys players were named to the prestigious squad.

Curie’s Cliff Alexander, who has committed to Kansas, will play on the East squad. His counterparts on the West squad will be Whitney Young’s Jahlil Okafor, who committed to Duke, and Marian Catholic point guard Tyler Ulis, a Kentucky commit.

They join Eddy Curry ('01), Michael Thompson ('02), Sean Dockery ('02), Dee Brown ('02), Shannon Brown ('03), Bobby Frasor ('05), Sherron Collins ('06), Jon Scheyer ('06), Derrick Rose ('07), Michael Dunigan ('08), Iman Shumpert ('08), Anthony Davis ('11), Wayne Blackshear ('11) and Jabari Parker ('13) as Chicago area boys players who have been named McDonald's All-Americans in the last decade. 

Earlier this month, 13 area players – nine boys and four girls – were selected as nominees for the annual game. Players were nominated by high school coaches, athletic directors, principals, and members of the McDonald’s All American Games Selection Committee.

However, none of the four girls players made the team.

The McDonald’s All-American Game will be played at the United Center on April 2.

Contact Us