chicago today

Chicago Today Recap: Details From Our Nov. 19 Show

If you're craving more, here are some links to organizations that were featured, extra information about the segments

Did you catch this week's "Chicago Today" show?

If you're craving more, here are some links to organizations that were featured, extra information about the segments and more to quench your thirst until next Friday.

(For links from 2020 shows click here)

Friday, Nov. 19

Love Hard

Netflix and Chill with this holiday treat “Love Hard”: www.netflix.com/lovehard

Chicago Botanic Garden

Enjoy the holiday season with Lightscape at the Chicago Botanic Garden: https://www.chicagobotanic.org/lightscape

Hello, Jack!

Bring a little kindness to your home with Apple TV+ “Hello, Jack! The Kindness Show”: https://tv.apple.com/us/show/hello-jack-the-kindness-show/umc.cmc.67f7csjyodc41iybksdv6s0pt

Big Delicious Life

Enjoy a BLT Bar & Bloodies with Big Delicious Life:  https://bigdeliciouslife.com/

Dexter: New Blood

Catch David Magidoff on “Dexter: New Blood”: https://www.sho.com/dexter-new-blood

Thanksgiving Table Decor

Get tips for you Thanksgiving Table Décor: https://www.instagram.com/jen.naye/

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Nov. 12

Kevin Smith

Buy your tickets to see Kevin Smith at the Music Box on Monday, 11/8 : https://musicboxtheatre.com/films/clerk-the-kevin-smith-documentary

Get a copy of Kevin’s new book “Kevin Smith's Secret Stash : The Definitive Visual History (Classic Movies, Film History, Cinema Books)”: https://www.amazon.com/Kevin-Smiths-Secret-Stash-Definitive/dp/1683830997

Brittany's Trees

Brittany's Trees is a neighborhood that celebrates the holidays and memory of Brittany Valene: https://brittanys-trees.com/

Hero Coffee Bar

Get your caffeine buzz with “Hero Coffee Bar”: https://www.herocoffeebars.com/

Chef Entertainment

Learn more about Chef Entertainment with Chef Paul Guerrero: https://www.chefentertainment.com/

"Colin in Black & White"

Check out Colin Kaepernick’s coming of age story, "Colin in Black & White," on Netflix: www.netflix.com/colininblackandwhite

Braford Newquist’s Album Release Event

Purchase tickets for Braford Newquist’s album release event benefiting Gilda’s Club: http://bradfordnewquist.com

More information on Gilda’s Club: https://www.gildasclubchicago.org/

Chicago Public Library Foundation

Support the Chicago Public Library Foundation: https://www.cplfoundationawards.org/

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Oct. 29

Annaleigh Ashford

Check out Annaleigh Ashford in B Positive: https://www.cbs.com/shows/b-positive/ and Impeachment: American Crime Story: https://www.fxnetworks.com/shows/american-crime-story

The Actors Gymnasium

Learn to Fly at The Actors Gymnasium: https://www.actorsgymnasium.org/

Cebu

Enjoy some Filipino cuisine at Cebu in Wicker Park: https://cebuchicago.com/

"Passing"

Netflix’s “Passing” is a thought provoking film that isn’t just Black & White: https://www.netflix.com/title/81424320

Fun activities for Halloween weekend:

Catch the world premiere of “The Jigsaw Bride" in Oak Brook: https://firstfolio.org/

Hit up Jack’s Pumpkin pop-up in Goose Island: https://jackspumpkinpopup.com/

Join the festivities in the Northalsted Halloween Parade: https://northalsted.com/events/halloween/

Get your tickets for Tilt Terror Nights at 360 Chicago: 360chicago.com/tilt-terror-nights

Ghosts and gangsters and massacres, oh my! Just in time for Halloween, you can take a tour to learn all about it guided by Weird Chicago Tours:  https://www.weirdchicago.com/

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Oct. 22

New NBC, Peacock Shows

Check out all new episodes of your favorite shows on NBC and Peacock

The BlackList: https://www.nbc.com/the-blacklist

LA BREA: https://www.nbc.com/la-brea

Ordinary Joe: https://www.nbc.com/ordinary-joe

The Morten Arboretum

Check out all the fun activities & event at The Morten Arboretum: https://mortonarb.org/#!

Chicago Bloom

Getting your fall foliage from Chicago Bloom by Tu Bloom: https://www.shopchicagobloom.com/

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Oct. 15

'Halloween Kills'

Michael Myers is back this October in Halloween Kills with Jamie Lee Curtis: https://www.halloweenmovie.com/

The Dr. Seuss Experience

If you’re looking for some family fun then check out the THE DR. SEUSS EXPERIENCE: https://www.experienceseuss.com/

Porkies Pig Roast & Catering

Go whole hog with Porkies Pig Roast & Catering: https://www.porkiespigroast.com/

'One Chicago' Shows

Catch the new season of all your favorite “One Chicago” shows: https://www.nbc.com/one-chicago porkie’s

Maid

Netflix and Chill this weekend with “Maid” starring Andie MacDowell: www.netflix.com/maid

Taste of Hope

Enjoy, good food, good wine and help a good cause with Taste of Hope: https://www.chicagotasteofhope.org/

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Oct. 8

Bank of America Chicago Marathon

Cheer on Chicago Marathon runners: https://www.nbcchicago.com/news/local/2021-chicago-marathon-spectators-guide-what-to-know-if-youre-cheering-on-a-runner/2628443/

Watch the 2021 Chicago Marathon LIVE: https://nbcchicago.com/marathonlive

More info on the marathon, including street closures, course map, COVID protocols and more: https://www.nbcchicago.com/news/sports/chicago-marathon/

Shinnick's Pub

Grab a drink at Shinnick's Pub: http://www.shinnicks.com/

'Bar Talk' Podcast

Listen to the podcast "Bar Talk With Jenna Duddleston":  https://www.instagram.com/bartalkwithjenna/?hl=en

Pilsen Arts & Community House

Embrace the arts at the Pilsen Arts & Community House: https://www.pilsenartscommunityhouse.org/

Chicago's South Loop

Rediscover the South Loop with Mr. South Loop: https://www.instagram.com/mrsouthloop/?hl=en

Adorable Baby: https://adorable-baby.business.site/?utm_source=gmb&utm_medium=referral

La Cantina Grill: https://www.lacantinagrill.com/

Chicago French Press: https://chicagofrenchpress.com/

Annoyance Theatre

Come for the laughs at the Annoyance Theatre & Bar: https://www.theannoyance.com/

Ping Tom Memorial Park

Explore Ping Tom Memorial Park in Chinatown: https://www.chicagoparkdistrict.com/parks-facilities/Ping-Tom-Memorial-Park/

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Oct. 1

"Many Saints of Newark"

If you’re a "Sopranos" fan then you have to check out “Many Saints of Newark” on HBOMax: https://www.hbomax.com/many-saints-of-newark

Travels to Ireland

Press the Green Button to start your Travels to Ireland: https://www.ireland.com/en-us/

The Darling

The Darling is a posh West Loop location for modern and classic fare: https://thedarlingchi.com/

The Food Guy

Join “The Food Guy” Steve Dolinsky as he eats his way through the Chicago area on NBC: https://stevedolinsky.com/ and http://nbcchicagotoday.com/

Chicago Italian Beef

Make sure to checkout these Chicago Italian Beef staples:
Johnnie’s Beef: https://www.facebook.com/Johnnies-Beef-169537026394157/
Al’s Beef: https://www.alsbeef.com/
Buona Beef: https://buona.com/

"Truth Be Told"

Now streaming: Season 2 of "Truth Be Told" on Apple TV+: https://tv.apple.com/us/show/truth-be-told/umc.cmc.6hegr60w8pjyfcblgocjek7oo?ctx_brand=tvs.sbd.4000&itscg=MC_20000&itsct=atvp_brand_omd&mttn3pid=Google%20AdWords&mttnagencyid=a5e&mttncc=US&mttnsiteid=143238&mttnsubad=OUS2019812_1-540253536616-c&mttnsubkw=124595017598__GMiySO2F_&mttnsubplmnt=

Pitch.

Book your camping concierge Pitch for your next outdoor adventure: https://www.pitchcampusa.com/#/
Follow them on IG: https://www.instagram.com/pitchcampusa/?hl=en

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Sept. 24

Top Chef Family Style

Looking for a family friendly show? Check Meghan Trainor hosting "Top Chef Family Style" now streaming on Peacock: https://www.peacocktv.com/stream-tv/top-chef-family-style

Rooh

Rooh in the West Loop is modern take on Indian Cuisine: https://www.roohchicago.com/

"Afterlife of the Party"

Our Netflix and chill movie of the week is “Afterlife of the Party”: https://www.netflix.com/title/81095482

Hyde Park Jazz Fest

If you’re in the mood for some smooth jazz then head over to Hyde Park Jazz Fest: http://hydeparkjazzfestival.org/

Dutch Festival

Enjoy Dutch Festival this weekend in Crestwood: https://www.elimcs.org/dutch-festival/

Butterflies at Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum

Experience the Butterflies at the Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum: https://naturemuseum.org/

Tag and release your own butterflies: monarchwatch.org

“Chicago Party Aunt”

We’ve all experienced some wild times at Wrigley but non compared to Netflix’s “Chicago Party Aunt”: https://www.netflix.com/title/81067223

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Sept. 17

Brooklyn Nine-Nine

Check out the eighth and final season of "Brooklyn Nine-Nine" on NBC: https://www.nbc.com/brooklyn-nine-nine

Ozzie Guillen

Make sure to watch Ozzie Guillen on NBC Sports: https://www.nbcsports.com/mlb

Cog Hill Golf & Country Club

Golf on the same courses that legends have played at Cog Hill Golf & Country Club: https://www.coghillgolf.com/

Chicago Riverwalk

Learn more about Chicago and the Riverwalk at the Chicago History Museum: https://www.chicagohistory.org/

Locations highlighted on the Chicago Riverwalk by Cortney & Matthew:

Delight in the cuisine and atmosphere at Beatnik on the River: https://www.beatnikontheriver.com/

Plan your visit to the Chicago Riverwalk: https://www.chicagoriverwalk.us/

Chicago Electric Boat Company: https://www.chicagoelectricboats.com/

City Winery: https://citywinery.com/chicago/Online/default.asp?BOparam::WScontent::loadArticle::permalink=chicago-winegarden&BOparam::WScontent::loadArticle::context_id=

Art at theMART: https://artonthemart.com/

Chicago Brewhouse Riverwalk: https://chicagobrewhouse.com/

Neighborly Riverwalk Outpost: https://neighborlyshop.com/

Colores Mexicanos: https://coloresmexicanoschicago.com/

Chicago Park District Fishing on the River: https://www.chicagoriverwalk.us/copy-of-dog-days-of-summer-1

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Sept. 10

Nine Perfect Strangers

Check out Chicago’s Michael Shannon in Nine Perfect Strangers on Hulu: https://www.hulu.com/series/nine-perfect-strangers

Bakery Box

The Bakery Box is your go to dessert ATM : https://www.thebakeryboxllc.com/

Frida Kahlo Exhibit

It’s the last weekend for the Frida Kahlo: Timeless Exhibit: https://theccma.org/faqs-frida

'Nine Lives' Beer

Buy Empirical Brewery’s ‘Nine Lives’ Beer Benefiting Tree House Humane Society: https://www.empiricalbrewery.com/

Clear the Shelters

For more information on Clear the Shelters: https://www.nbcchicago.com/news/local/clear-the-shelters/

California Live

California Live- our west coast counterparts: https://www.nbclosangeles.com/california-live/

Here is a list of goodies that we sent to California Live:

Giordano’s Pizza: https://giordanos.com/

Malort: https://www.jeppsonsmalort.com/

Deerfield Bakery: https://www.deerfieldsbakery.com/

Garrett’s Popcorn: https://www.garrettpopcorn.com/

Yuzu Sushi & Robata Grill

Thanks to Yuzu Sushi & Robata Grill for supplying the sushi: https://www.yuzuchicago.com/

Everybody's Talking About Jamie

Everybody’s Talking About Jamie is at the Landmark this weekend: https://www.20thcenturystudios.com/movies/everybodys-talking-about-jamie

Pro Football Weekly

Get all your football info from Pro Football Weekly: https://www.profootballweekly.com/

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Aug. 27

Family Game Fight

Watch your favorite Hollywood couple compete against each other in Family Game Fight: https://www.nbc.com/family-game-fight

Artopolis Bakery

Get you sweet Greek treats from Artopolis Bakery: http://artopolischicago.com/

Taste of Greektown

Celebrate Taste of Greektown this weekend: https://greektownchicago.org/taste-of-greektown/

Scratchboard Kitchen

If you love to brunch then head over to  Scratchboard Kitchen: https://scratchboardkitchenah.com/

Candyman

Say his name…Candyman in theaters today:  https://www.candymanmovie.com/

Resort to Love

If you’re in the mood for a RomCom this weekend then check out Resort to Love on Netflix: www.netflix.com/ResortToLove

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Aug. 27

Oak Brook Polo Club

If you’re looking for some family fun then head over to the Oak Brook Polo Club: https://www.oakbrookpoloclub.com/

The Last Letter From My Lover

Looking to Netflix and chill this weekend then check out The Last Letter From My Lover on Netflix:  www.netflix.com/thelastletterfromyourlover

Beer on the Wall

Get your weekend libations at Beer on the Wall: http://wehavegreatbeer.com/index.html

Work in Progress

A must watch series is “Work in Progress” on Showtime: https://www.sho.com/work-in-progress

Chalk Howard Street

Support local business and get some cool pictures for social media at Chalk Howard Street:  https://www.howardstreetchicago.com/chalk-howard-street

The Protégé

Head to the theaters to check out Maggie Q in The Protégé: https://protege.movie/

Sangria Festival

Get your sangria and help a good cause at Sangria Festival in Humboldt Park: https://www.sangriafestivalchicago.com/

_________________________________________________________________________

Friday, Aug. 12

RESPECT

Go see RESPECT in theater’s starring our own Jennifer Hudson: https://www.unitedartistsreleasing.com/movie-site/respect-2

Hatch Day

For more information about Hatch Day: https://www.juliandkinggiftfoundation.com/

Horcher Farm

Get your produce local from Horcher Farm: https://horchers-florist-greenhouses.business.site/

Central Park

Central Park season 2 is now streaming on Apple+ TV: https://tv.apple.com/us/episode/episode-one/umc.cmc.7af78poe8v5n5jcs9thxdl6iw?action=playSmartEpisode

La Grange Summer Art Project

La Grange Summer Art Project: https://cm.lgba.com/events/details/2021-summer-art-exhibit-come-sit-stay-play-15154

National Prosecco Day

Celebrate national Prosecco Day at Prosecco Ristorante: http://proseccochicago.com

Saranello's

Experience Saranello’s Farm to Table cuisine: https://www.leye.com/in-the-know/in-the-restaurants/celebrate-the-summer-bounty-with-saranellos-tomato-festival/

Evanston Art Fest

Check out local artists at the Evanston Art Fest: https://amdurproductions.com/event/2021-evanston-art-fest/

_________________________________________________________________________

Contact Us