Who Will Win? - NBC Chicago
Ward Room
Covering Chicago's nine political influencers

Who Will Win?



    Polls opened at 6 a.m. Tuesday across Illinois, but the race to watch is the one making political history in Chicago.

    It's been 64 years since the city picked a mayor without an incumbent running, and on Tuesday, voters have their pick of six: Rahm Emanuel, Miguel del Valle, Carol Moseley Braun, Gery Chico, Patricia Van Pelt Watkins and William Walls, III, in the order they appear on the ballot.

    If one candidate gets more than 50 percent, he or she will win the race outright. If not, the top two vote getters will face off in an April election.

    Emanuel currently is polling beyond 50 percent as the clear front-runner, but political analysts say that with around 10 percent of Chicagoans still undecided, the race could see a runoff. 

    Emanuel: "I'm Out Earning This My Way"

    [CHI] Emanuel: "I'm Out Earning This My Way"
    In the final day of campaigning before Election Day, Rahm Emanuel talks about his focus on Chicago's issues and how often he and President Obama have conversed during the course of the campaign.
    (Published Monday, May 16, 2011)

    A record turnout is expected after more than 73,000 residents voted early, including Emanuel, del Valle and even retiring Mayor Richard Daley.

    Election results also mark a new era of the city council, with a record number of 238 people running for alderman in 43 contested races.

    Polls close at 7 p.m. Tuesday. If you have problems voting, call the Election Center, 312-269-7870.

    Run-Off Chances and Voter Fraud Warning

    [CHI] Run-Off Chances and Voter Fraud Warning
    Thom Serafin, political consultant, talks about the possibility of a run-off in the Chicago Mayoral race and a warning against free massages for votes.
    (Published Monday, Feb. 21, 2011)

    Keep checking NBCChicago.com's election center, follow us on Twitter and friend us on Facebook for results all night, and watch an expanded NBC5 news at 10 p.m. for full election coverage.