Dems the Breaks: 7 State Sens Won't Run - NBC Chicago
Ward Room
Covering Chicago's nine political influencers

Dems the Breaks: 7 State Sens Won't Run



    Following Sen. James Meek's retirement announcement last week, as many as six other Illinois State Senators will not be running for re-election.

    Turnover in the House and Senate typically happens once a decade when the legislative boundaries are redrawn, because there is new territory, or the incumbent is not favored politically, according to the Chicago Sun-Times.

    This isn't the case however, as many of the Democrats who re-drew the maps are the ones who have decided to not run for re-election.

    With new faces to the Illinois Legislature, will this be Gov. Pat Quinn's chance to have more approval with voters and support in the Illinois legislature?

    Quinn has a 35.5 percent approval rating, according to a recent poll conducted by the Paul Simon Public Policy Institute at Southern Illinois University, with only 14.9 percent of those polled saying Illinois is heading in the right direction.

    Democrat state senators Susan Garrett (Lake Forest) and Edward Maloney (Chicago) have decided not to run again and David Koehler (Peoria) will make a bid for the 17th Congressional District, said the Times.

    State Sen. Jeff Schoenberg announced last Tuesday that he would be retiring to advise the Pritzker family full-time on their "philanthropic initiatives in the area of early childhood development," he said in an issued statement.

    Republican state senators Larry Bomke (Springfield), John Millner (Carol Stream) and Suzi Schmidt (Lake Villa) will also not be seeking reelection, according to local reports.

    In the House Chicago Democrats State Rep. Joe Lyons, assistant majority leader, and Connie Howard, have both announced they will not be running for re-election.