Ward Room
Covering Chicago's nine political influencers

Blago Retrial: Daily Journal 5/18

View Comments (
)
|
Email
|
Print
Blago Retrial: Prosecution Expected to Wrap Thursday
Jack Higgins

Follow Ward Room on Twitter to keep up-to-date with action in the courtroom.


5:09 p.m.
-- Judge James Zagel said he expects prosecutors to rest their case Thursday.  They've asked the Blagojevich attorneys to tell them by the end of the day Thursday on whether or not they plan to mount a defense.

2:47 p.m.: Blagojevich attorney Sheldon Sorosky gets 129 objections during his cross-examination of Lon Monk.

10:40 a.m.: Lon Monk admitted on the stand today that he lied to the FBI when they questioned him in 2005 about his relationship with fundraiser Tony Rezko.

He has never been charged with that crime. Ironically, it was the only infraction for which Blagojevich was convicted during his first trial in 2010.

10:08 a.m.: Lon Monk, former friend of Rod Blagojevich friend, says despite having a law degree he never warned Blagojevich to stay away from corrupt businessman, Tony Rezko.

What To Expect Today:

The time is fast-approaching when Rod Blagojevich must reveal his intentions. Will he take the stand to give his side of the story in his corruption trial in federal court? Or as he did last year, will he bypass a defense altogether, resting on a contention that the government has not proven its case?

Prosecutors said Tuesday that they are now down to their last few witnesses, and the timing they outlined for the judge suggests the government could rest its case by the end of this week. After that, Judge James Zagel will turn to the former governor and his legal team, and ask if the governor plans to mount a defense. [Read more here ... ]

Previous Journals:

Tuesday, May 17, 2011 -- Blago Friend Monk Takes Stand

Monday, May 16, 2011 -- Wyma Cross-Examined

Thursday, May 12, 2011 -- Better Day for Blago?

Wednesday, May 11, 2011 -- Motion for Mistrial Denied

Tuesday, May 10, 2011 -- '[Bleeping] Golden' Tapes Played

Monday, May 9, 2011 -- Harris Cross-Examined

Thursday, May 5, 2011 -- Blago Considered Appointing Himself Senator

Wednesday, May 4, 2011 -- Harris Testimony Continues

Tuesday, May 3, 2011 -- Testimony Begins

Monday, May 2, 2011 -- Opening Statements Due Today

Thursday, April 28, 2011 -- Questioning Continues

Wednesday, April 27, 2011
-- 6 Jurors Left to Question?

Tuesday, April 26, 2011 -- Opening Statements Likely Monday

Monday, April 25, 2011
-- Jury Selection Resumes

Thursday, April 21, 2011 -- Jurors Questioned

Wednesday, April 20, 2011 -- Welcome to the Retrial

Leave Comments